Welcome to the Boarding Home Registration Application
Iowa law requires that owners, operators, or managers of boarding homes must register their buildings with the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals (DIA). An establishment is considered a boarding home if rooms are rented to three or more individuals who require supervision or need assistance with activities of daily living. A boarding home does not include facilities, homes, or programs regulated by DIA, the Department of Human Services (DHS), or the Department of Public Health (DPH).
In addition to the initial registration, owners, operators or managers must file an annual occupancy report with DIA. This report includes such information as the number of tenants residing in the building and the type of supervision or assistance being provided to the tenants. Both the initial registration and the annual occupancy report may be filed with DIA via the online registration system, or by using a paper form available from the Department.
Do I Need to Register?
As noted above, not all boarding homes need to be registered with DIA. In determining whether a boarding home must be registered, the following criteria should be considered:
- Rooms are rented to three or more individuals not directly related to the owner, operator, or manager and who require supervision or assistance with activities of daily living.
- Supervision is provided to three or more tenants.
“Supervision” means oversight necessary to prevent accidents or ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the tenant.
- The tenants require assistance with activities of daily living.
“Activities of daily living” include but are not limited to the following self-care tasks: bathing, dressing, grooming, eating, transferring, toileting, and ambulation.
- Still unsure if you need to register? Contact Dept. of Inspections & Appeals
Penalty for Failing to Register or File Annual Occupancy Reports
Failure to register with the Department or submit the annual occupancy report will subject the owner, operator, or manager to a civil penalty of not more than $500.
Boarding home registration information (Steps 1 through 7 of the registration tool) shall be updated any time a change occurs, within 30 days of the occurrence. Boarding home occupancy information (Steps 8 through 10) can only be updated on an annual basis. These annual updates must include information current as of December 31 of the year and must be submitted by January 31 of the following year.
Assistance with Registration or Occupancy Reports
Owners, operators, or managers of boarding homes who need assistance with the initial registration of their premise or the filing of the annual occupancy report may contact the Department's Health Facilities Division at (515) 281-4227. Printed registration forms and occupancy reports also may be requested by calling the number listed above.
If you are ready to get started with the boarding home registration process, click the button below.